The dummy failed the crash test

First things first, I must say that I am rather disappointed in my free writing paper scoring a 21/30. It was one piece of work that I had actually taken pleasure in writing, which is more than I can say for certain previous compositions that were plowed through haphazardly. Those somehow achieved high marks though, so I’m uncertain as to whether the low grade was because of tone or lack of depth. I had tried to flaunt my contextual knowledge of Grand Theft Auto 3, which was somehow the only computer game title that I could think of at that point in time. My attempts proved futile, however, as the marker dismissed it with a comment of “sounds violent”, which is something you cannot give when the essay presents knowledge of the subject in particular to that degree of near-perfection. Vocabulary used was passable, the type that would secure at least a 23/30 had my views not conflicted with the marker’s. That, I surmise, was the key factor in my failing of this essay.

I had done better for situational writing though, despite initial fears that it would bomb terribly. These were unfounded, however, as I had received good comments from the marker(thankfully a different one), and was marked down because of my poor penmanship and excessive use of correction tape, a habit which I have not been able to kick as if it was the new crack. 24/30, and we have a secured A1 grade for English. Coincidentally, this is also my first A1 in English for god knows how long of a time, so I’ll probably be taking the weekend off to conduct a celebration of sorts.

The L1R5 score was a major letdown, though. I was so close to the sex six that I could just taste it on the tip of my tongue. I had just required 2 marks from Geography and a mark from Chemistry to achieve this feat, and needless to say I felt quite bummed out.

Can’t post in the early morn for nuts, so this will suffice for now.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

